Culture Coin: Creative Currency Competes In Business Unusual National Challenge

Culture Coin: Creative Currency Competes In Business Unusual National Challenge

Alternative currencies can take many forms from Bitcoin to the credits given within gamified social networks to local exchange systems. One such system for exchanging arts-related labor and skills for similar skills or resources is the Culture Coin, a project of HowlRound currently competing in the Business Unusual National Challenge.

Culture Coin is described (via @shadesofsolveig) as “an alternative currency, a bit like frequent flyer miles“:

“Say a playwright wants to organize a reading of a new script, but has no money to pay actors. She would ‘pay’ actors in Culture Coins, which they could then use to ‘buy,’ say, spare rehearsal space. The theater offering the space could then contract a photographer to do some promo work, using the same culture coins. And so on. Everyone participating in the market, which is hosted online, has an account, where transactions are recorded.”

Culture Coin seems most akin to a local exchange trading system which is designed to make services affordable while keeping value within the community.

Vijay Mathew, associate director of HowlRound, is quoted in Ben Schiller’s piece:

“We are trying to figure out a way of recognizing volunteerism or sweat equity that doesn’t burn out artists who spend five to 10 years working on something, and aren’t able to make a living”

As Schiller notes, “Mathew sees it as a way of crediting activity that would normally go uncredited, creating a sort of alternative economy.”

Culture Coin recently inspired an exchange of ideas as HowlRound completed Phase 3 of the Business Unusual National Challenge. HowlRound is in the running to “win a package of grants and resources worth $35,000 to prototype an innovative new approach.”

However the Challenge turns out for Culture Coin, it’s a useful idea to consider given the fluctuations of the economy and the long-term mutual support available within local communities.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Hey! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give
    a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over
    the same topics? Thank you so much!

    1. Thanks Jermaine for the comments. I would say to find more on the topics that I write about, Google (search engine) different music web sites. I don’t know what kind of music that you listen to, but just google search the topic and you should come up with alot of websites to look through.

  2. Hey! I understand this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does building a well-established website like yours take a massive amount
    work? I’m brand new to operating a blog but I do write in my
    journal every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring
    blog owners. Thankyou!

    1. Thanks for the comments, and it’s great that you are keeping a journal, and that you’re writing in it everyday. To me that is a great start to blogging. To answer your question, no it doesn’t take alot of time to do it, but have to stay commited to it. At first it took me awhile to attract people here. At the time I was writing about football (NFL), and music. Then I found out that keeping up with football was a little too demanding for me and my time so I stuck with doing music. And I also would say designing the page was not too hard. I like to switch my themes from time to time, to see if anyone is really paying attention to the changes, and I like to change it myself from time to time. Also, stick with your subject matter whatever it is, also find other people, or websites of your interest and subscribe to them through your emails. And then you can respond back to the author, repost their post, and include your own posts. So mostly if you follow some of these suggestions then you shouldn’t have a problem. But also don’t get discourage at first. Cause it may take some time for people to notice your posts. Also, I forgot to mention that everytime that you finish writing your post, share them on the internet, cause thats mostly where your followers are. But then again take your time and don’t get discourage if you don’t get comments, or followers right away it will take time. And just keep writing. I hope the best of luck to you.

  3. Hello! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 3gs!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the great work!

Leave a Reply

